El Argonauta. La librería de la música.

Logotipo El Argonauta. La librería de la música
C/ Fernández de los Ríos, 50. 28015 Madrid (España)
info@elargonauta.com        +34 915439441
Goyescas, Spanish Dances and Other Work for Solo Piano
Goyescas, Spanish Dances and Other Work for Solo Piano.

Goyescas, Spanish Dances and Other Work for Solo Piano

  • ISBN: 978-0-486-25481-4
  • Código del editor: DP13293
  • Editorial: Dover Publications
  • Encuadernación: Rústica
  • Formato: 23x30
  • Páginas: 176
  • Idiomas: Inglés
  • código del editor: DP13293


valoración (0 Comentarios)
Comenta y valora este libro

PVP 17,30 €
Sin stock. Si se pide hoy, se estima recibir en la librería el 25/06/21

Enrique Granados (1867-1916): Goyescas, Danzas españolas y otras obras para piano

This remarkable book brings together in one sturdy, yet inexpensive volume four of the most memorable and frequently played sets of works for the piano by Enrique Granados (1867-1916), one of Spain's greatest modern composers. They are reprinted here from early editions.

The piano suite Goyescas, first performed in Barcelona in 1911, would bring Granados his greatest, most enduring success. In each of its six pieces, the composer employs wild, insistent melody and highly individual rhythm, harmony and coloring to create dramatic impressions of paintings by Goya, to whose work Granados was deeply drawn.

The exquisite Spanish Dances, a suite of early works, were much admired by the leading composers of the day, among them Massenet, Saint-Saéns and Grieg, not only for their distinctive musical qualities, but also for the new direction in Spanish music which they heralded. They remain today perhaps the most performed of Granados' work.

Less well known in America are the beautiful Escenas poéticas and Escenas románticas, two suites which reflect Granados' interest in the music of Grieg, Schumann and Liszt, yet are filled with the great Spanish composer's original modulations and characteristic melodic writing. Together, the four suites offer performing artists, teachers, students and music lovers a rich treasury of the finest and most enduring of Granados' compositions for the piano.


- Goyescas (Los Majos Enamorados) [The Majos in Love]
1. Los Requiebros [Flattery] (dedicated to Emil Sauer)
2. Coloquio en la Reja [Conversation at the Grilled Windows (dedicated to Eduardo Risler)
3. El Fandango de Candil [The Fandango by Lamplight] (dedicated te Ricardo Viñes)
4. Quejas ó la Maja y el Ruiseñor [Laments, or The Maja and the Nightingale] (dedicated to Amparo [Gal])
5. El Amor y la Muerte: Balada [Love and Death: Ballade] (dedicated te Harold Bauer)
6. Epílogo: Serenata del Espectro [Epilogue: Serenade of the Spectre] (dedicated to Alfred Cortot)

- Spanish Dances [Danzas Españolas]
1. Allegro (dedicated te Amparo Gal)
2. Andante (dedicated to Julián Martí)
3. Energico (dedicated to Joaquín Vancells) 4. Villanesca (dedicated to T Tasso)
5. Andantino, quasi Allegretto (dedicated to Alfredo G. Fari)
6. Allegretto, poco a poco accelerando (dedicated to D. Murillo)
7. Allegro airoso (in honor of César Cui) 8. Assai moderato
9. Molto allegro brillante
10. Allegretto (dedicated to Her Royal Highness the infanta Isabel de Borbón)
11. Largo a placer
12. Andante

- Escenas Románticas [Romantic Scenes] (dedicated to Maria Oliveró)
1. Mazurka
2. Berceuse
3. Lento con extasis
4. Alegretto
5. Allegro appassionato
6. Epílogo

- Escenas Poéticas [Poetical Scenes], Book 1 (dedicated to "my daughter Soledad")
1. Berceuse
2. Eva y Walter [Eva and Walter]
3. Danza de la Rosa [Dance of the Rose]

The original edition of the Spanish Dances provides a title for only one of the dances, the Villanesca (no. 4). Severa¡ of the dances acquired titles when they were issued individually in Granados' lifetime. Today they are commonly referred ro by the following titles: 1. Minueto, 2. Oriental, 3. Zarabanda, (4. Villanesca), 5. Andaluza or Playera, 6. jota or Rondalla aragonesa, 7. Valenciana, 8. Asturiana, 9. Mazurka, 10. Danza triste, 11. Zambra, 12. Arabesca. Two of the Escenas Románticas have similarly acquired names since their first publication: 3. El Poeta y el Ruiseñor, and 4. Mazurka.