El Argonauta. La librería de la música.

Logotipo El Argonauta. La librería de la música
C/ Fernández de los Ríos, 50. 28015 Madrid (España)
Quintet and Quartets for Piano and Strings
Quintet and Quartets for Piano and Strings.

Quintet and Quartets for Piano and Strings

  • ISBN: 978-0-486-24900-1
  • Código del editor: DP12758
  • Editorial: Dover Publications
  • Encuadernación: Rústica
  • Formato: 23x30
  • Páginas: 298
  • Idiomas: Inglés
  • código del editor: DP12758

PVP 21,90 €
Si se pide hoy, se estima recibir en la librería el 13/04/20

Johannes Brahms (1833-1897): Quinteto y cuartetos con piano, opus 34, 25, 26 y 60. Partitura general.

Ed. Hans Gál

Of the man considered his artistic and spiritual successor, Schumann wrote: "It seemed to me ... that ... a musician would inevitably appear to whom it was vouchsafed to give the highest and most ideal expression to the tendencies of our time.... And he has come, a young man over whose cradle traces and Heroes stood watch. His name is Johannes Brahms."

By 1853 Brahms had emerged as a force in music, and would afterwards be acknowledged as the greatest master of the symphonic form of the last half of the century. In that generation of composers, only Dvorák (for whom he had a special regard and to whom he gave invaluable aid) produced as much chamber music as the prolific Brahms. This prodigious outpouring, perhaps more than any other aspect of Brahms's oeuvre, provides a clear and uninterrupted view of his artistic development.

Here reproduced in this handsome, inexpensive volume is a superb selection of chamber works-masterful compositions by Brahms, written for violín, viola, sello and piano. Reprinted from the reliable Breitkopf & Hártel edition, they include uintet in F Minor, Op. 34 (... a work of great power ... it gives a singularly vigorous and full-blooded picture o f the Brahms of 1864-Grove's Dictionary of Music and Musicians); the Quartet in G Minor, Op. 25 (1861) and Quartet in A Mayor, Op. 26 (1861-2), distinguished by their variety of moods, gypsy coloring and richness of ideas; and the Quartet in C Minor, Op. 60 (1875), with its somber and foreboding atmosphere.

Standards of the repertoire, the four compositions are strongly dramatic, richly inventive and filled with ingenious thematic transformations. Musicians, music lovers, any admirer of Brahms will welcome their appearance in this convenient, af f ordable edition. Large readable noteheads and ample margins f or notations make this excellent volume an important addition to the library of every serious student of chamber music.


Editor's Commentary

- Quintet for Piano and Strings in F minor, Op. 34
I. Allegro non troppo
II. Andante, un poco Adagio
III. Scherzo. Allegro
IV. Finale. Poco sostenuto

- Quartet No. 1 for Piano and Strings in G minor, Op. 25
I. Allegro
II. Intermezzo. Allegro, ma non troppo
III. Andante con moto
IV. Rondo alla Zingarese. Presto

- Quartet No. 2 for Piano and Strings in A major, Op. 26
I. Allegro non troppo
II. Poco Adagio
III. Scherzo. Poco Allegro
IV. Finale. Allegro

- Quartet No. 3 for Piano and Strings in C minor, Op. 60
I. Allegro non troppo
II. Scherzo. Allegro
III. Andante
IV. Finale. Allegro comodo

Utilizamos cookies propias y de terceros para mejorar nuestros servicios y facilitar la navegación. Si continúa navegando consideramos que acepta su uso.

aceptar más información