El Argonauta. La librería de la música.

Logotipo El Argonauta. La librería de la música
C/ Fernández de los Ríos, 50. 28015 Madrid (España)
info@elargonauta.com        +34 915439441
Brahms: Symphony No. 1
Brahms: Symphony No. 1.

Brahms: Symphony No. 1

  • ISBN: 978-0-521-47959-2
  • Editorial: Cambridge University Press
  • Colección: Cambridge Music Handbooks
  • Encuadernación: Rústica
  • Formato: 13,8x21,6
  • Páginas: 124
  • Idiomas: Inglés
  • Tipo: LIBRO


valoración (0 Comentarios)
Comenta y valora este libro

PVP 55,90 €
Sin stock. Si se pide hoy, se estima recibir en la librería el 24/01/22

Brahms’ First Symphony has been hailed as Beethoven’s Tenth. Its controversial status and relationship in the Beethovenian tradition is considered alongside other important issues in the early reception history of this key work in the symphonic repertory. David Brodbeck begins with an account of the lengthy genesis and complicated background to the writing of the symphony, before providing a thorough critical reading of the work, movement by movement. In particular, the author reveals a dense web of extra-compositional allusions - references in the music to works by J. S. Bach, Beethoven, Schubert, and Robert Schumann - in which, the author argues, much meaning resides.


1. Frustrated efforts
2. Completion, first performances, and publication
3. Structure and meaning in the first movement
4. The middle movements
5. Structure and meaning in the last movement
6. Early reception