El Argonauta. La librería de la música.

Logotipo El Argonauta. La librería de la música
C/ Fernández de los Ríos, 50. 28015 Madrid (España)
info@elargonauta.com        +34 915439441
Alban Berg. Master of the Smallest Link
Alban Berg. Master of the Smallest Link.

Alban Berg. Master of the Smallest Link

  • ISBN: 978-0-521-33884-4
  • Editorial: Cambridge University Press
  • Traductor: Christopher Hailey y Juliane Brand
  • Encuadernación: Rústica
  • Formato: 15x23
  • Páginas: 174
  • Idiomas: Inglés
  • Tipo: LIBRO


valoración (0 Comentarios)
Comenta y valora este libro

PVP 28,65 €
Sin stock. Si se pide hoy, se estima recibir en la librería el 09/08/21

Adorno’s study of Alban Berg is a unique document. Itself now a part of music history, it is a personal account, by a pre-eminent philosopher and aesthetician, of the life and musical works of his mentor, friend and composition teacher. Shortly after Berg’s death in 1935, Adorno contributed several analyses to the first Berg biography. Thirty years later he incorporated these chapters and several subsequent essays into one volume. Beyond analyses of individual pieces, the book explores the historical and cultural significance of Berg’s music, its relationship to that of other twentieth-century composers, and to the larger issues of contemporary life. This is a classic study, made available here for the first time in English, and it provides a key to understanding Adorno himself as well as offering an individual perspective on one of the major composers of the twentieth century.
- The author of this book is almost as famous as its subject
- Known to most people as a philosopher and sociologist, T. W. Adorno also studied composition with Schoenberg, alongside Webern and Berg
- The book was first published in German in 1968 and brings together most of Adorno's earlier writing on his fellow students


Translators’ introduction;
A note on the translation;
- Preface;
- Tone Reminiscence;
- The works;
- Analysis and Berg;
- Piano sonata;
- Seven Early Songs;
- First String Quartet;
- The Altenberg Songs;
- Clarinet pieces;
- Orchestral pieces;
- Towards a characterisation of Wozzeck;
- Epilogomena to the Chamber Concerto;
- Lyric Suite;
- Der Wein;
- Experiences with Lulu;
- About the text;
Adorno’s principal writings on Berg;