> Libros > Clásica > Historia de la música > Historia general de la música
A Concise History of Western Music. 9780521842945

A Concise History of Western Music

Cambridge University Press. 2006

Ficha técnica

  • EAN: 9780521842945
  • ISBN: 978-0-521-84294-5
  • Editorial: Cambridge University Press
  • Fecha de edición: 2006
  • Encuadernación: Cartoné con sobrecubierta
  • Dimensiones: 14x21,5
  • Idioma: Inglés
  • Nº páginas: 358

Disponible en breve

Sin stock. Si se pide hoy, se estima recibir en la librería el 22/07/24


PVP. 88,00€

Añadir a la Lista de deseos

Engaging, clear and informative, this is the story of western music - of its great composers, its performers and listeners, and of the ever changing ideas of what music is and what it is for. Paul Griffiths shows how music has evolved through the centuries, and suggests how musical evolution has reflected developments in history and culture. The book provides an enticing introduction for students and beginners, using the minimum of technical terms, all straightforwardly defined in the glossary. Its perspective and its insights will also make it illuminating for teachers, musicians and music lovers. Suggestions for further reading and recommended recordings are given at the end of each of the 24 short chapters.



Part I. Time Whole
1. From Babylonians to Franks

Part II. Time Measured 1100?1400
2. Troubadours and organists
3. Ars nove and Narcissus?s clock

Part III. Time Sensed 1400?1630
4. Harmony, the light of time
5. The radiance of the High Renaissance
6. Reformation and heartache
7. To speak in music

Part IV. Time Known 1630?1770
8. Baroque mornings
9. Fugue, concerto and operatic passion
10. Rococo and reform

Part V. Time Embraced 1770?1815
11. Sonata as comedy
12. Revolution?s momentum

Part VI. Time Escaping 1815?1907
13. The deaf man and the singer
14. Angels and other prodigies
15. New Germans and old Vienna
16. Romantic evenings
17. Nightfall and sunrise

Part VII. Time Tangled 1908?1975
18. To begin again
19. Forwards and backwards, and sideways
20. The people?s needs
21. To begin again again
22. Whirlwind

Part VIII. Time Lost 1975?
23. Echoes in the labyrinth
24. Interlude

Further reading and listening

Otros libros del mismo autor

Otros productos recomendados