> Libros > Formación > Análisis y composición > Análisis musical
The Classics of Music. Talks, Essays, and Other Writings Previously Uncollected. 9780198162148

The Classics of Music. Talks, Essays, and Other Writings Previously Uncollected

Oxford University Press. 2001

Ficha técnica

  • EAN: 9780198162148
  • ISBN: 978-0-19-816214-8
  • Editorial: Oxford University Press
  • Fecha de edición: 2001
  • Dimensiones: 15x23
  • Idioma: Inglés
  • Nº páginas: 864

Impresión bajo demanda

Disponibilidad sujeta a la información del editor


PVP. 579,40€

Añadir a la Lista de deseos

Edited by Michael Tilmouth, and editing completed by David Kimbell, and Roger Savage

For much of the twentieth century, Donald Francis Tovey (1875-1940) was Britain's most celebrated and influential writer on music, largely as a result of the considerable corpus of his work published by Oxford University Press in the 1930s and posthumously in the 1940s. However, as a prolific and popular lecturer, broadcaster, and essayist, he left many scattered writings which the Press did not publish in those years. With the sole exceptions of the Bach and Beethoven commentaries written for the Associated Board of the Royal Schools of Music, The Classics of Music assembles here for the first time all the significant completed public writings of Tovey which have not appeared heretofore under the Oxford imprint. Initially edited by Michael Tilmouth, late Tovey Professor of Music at the University of Edinburgh, the volume has been completed by David Kimbell and Roger Savage, also of Edinburgh - the institution at which Tovey himself held the Reid Chair of Music from 1914.

Here, then, are over seventy essays in musical analysis; fifteen composer-articles for the Encyclopaedia Britannica; two complete lecture series (one of them a sophisticated exploration of key-relationships in Beethoven); a sequence of radio talks for the ordinary listener; a survey of German music from the Renaissance to Hugo Wolf; and two dozen other essays, papers, scholarly reviews, and affectionate obituaries. All new Tovey - and all characteristically stimulating and stylish - making this essential collection available to a new generation of musicians.


I. Essays in Musical Analysis
II. Tovey as Journalist, Reviewer, and Obituarist (1902-1907, 1926-1934)
III. Composer-Articles in the Encyclopaedia Britannica (1929)
IV. Two Lecture Series from the 1920s
V. Broadcast Talks for the BBC in the 1920s
VI. Pieces on Several Occasions (1899-1939)
Index of Names
Index of Musical Ideas

Otros libros del mismo autor

Otros productos recomendados