> Libros > Pop, rock y otros estilos > Pop-rock internacional > Historias y guías de pop-rock internacional
Electric Shock : From the Gramophone to the iPhone: 125 Years of Pop Music. 9781847922182

Electric Shock : From the Gramophone to the iPhone: 125 Years of Pop Music

Vintage. 2015

Ficha técnica

  • EAN: 9781847922182
  • ISBN: 978-1-847-92218-2
  • Editorial: Vintage
  • Fecha de edición: 2015
  • Encuadernación: Cartoné con sobrecubierta
  • Dimensiones: 16x24
  • Idioma: Inglés
  • Nº páginas: 720


Agotado en la editorial


PVP. 37,85€

Avisar si vuelve a estar disponible.

Añadir a la Lista de deseos

Ambitious and groundbreaking, Electric Shock tells the story of popular music, from the birth of recording in the 1890s to the digital age, from the first pop superstars of the twentieth century to the omnipresence of music in our lives, in hit singles, ringtones and on Spotify. Over that time, popular music has transformed the world in which we live. Its rhythms have influenced how we walk down the street, how we face ourselves in the mirror, and how we handle the outside world in our daily conversations and encounters.

It has influenced our morals and social mores; it has transformed our attitudes towards race and gender, religion and politics. From the beginning of recording, when a musical performance could be preserved for the first time, to the digital age, when all of recorded music is only a mouse-click away; from the straitlaced ballads of the Victorian era and the 'coon songs' that shocked America in the early twentieth century to gangsta rap, death metal and the multiple strands of modern dance music: Peter Doggett takes us on a rollercoaster ride through the history of music. Within a narrative full of anecdotes and characters, Electric Shock mixes musical critique with wider social and cultural history and shows how revolutionary changes in technology have turned popular music into the lifeblood of the modern world.



1 The Voice of the Dead
2 Ev'ry body's Doin' It Now
3 Take Me to the Land of Jazz
4 Dance-O-Mania
5 Wizard of the Microphone
6 Blues in the Night
7 Bugle-Cali Rag
8 Millions Like Us
9 Let's Get Straight
10 Music for Gracious Living
11 Real Rock Drive
12 Bad Motorcycle
13 Soul Food
14 Music for Moderns
15 Revolution in Reverse
16 Sorry, Parents
17 Highlife
18 Freak out People
19 Flying through the Air
20 The New Prophets
21 The Devil's Interval
22 Push-Button Rock
23 Union of Bodies
24 Be Disrespectful
25 Dance Stance
26 Presenting the Fantasy
27 That Scream
28 Audio Time Warp
29 The Murder of Music?
30 Blurred Lines

Picture Credits
Source Notes
Select Bibliography

Otros libros del mismo autor

Otros productos recomendados